Slasher Girls & Monster Boys

Unknown

Continuing the theme of “let’s make sure I never fall asleep with the lights off again”, I just read Slasher Girls & Monster Boys. A collection of short stories, mostly horror, some edge-of-your-seat thriller, these will scare the pants off you. I think my hair turned grey. Grey-er.

This is not an anthology where you need to pick and choose the stories you read. There were a few that did not appeal to me so much; I found the pure horror most gripping, with the psychological thrillers a close second, but they were all GOOD.

The Birds of Azalea Street by Nova Ren Suma. Inspired by films Rear Window and The Birds. SO creepy and mind-bending and eerie..

In the Forest Dark and Deep by Carrie Ryan. Holy CRAP. Inspired by Alice in Wonderland, it will FREAK. YOU. OUT. That is one sick tea party.

Emmeline by Cat Winters. Inspired by films All Quiet on the Western Front and Nosferatu, this one is beautifully written, but more supernatural than horror. Sad.

Verse, Chorus, Verse by Leigh Bardugo. This one is actually inspired by Nirvana’s “Frances Farmer Will Have Her Revenge on Seatle.” Not my favourite story of hers, or of the book, but still a high creep factor.

Hide and Seek by Megan Shephard. Inspired by films Final Destination and The Crow and Bill & Ted’s Bogus Journey. I LOVED this one. I loved the folklore and mysticism and the relationship with Death. Shepherd is SO good.

The Dark, Scary Parts and All by Danielle Paige. Inspired by the film The Omen and Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein. I really liked this one, although the heroine lost me a bit at the end. That said, anything with the Prince of Darkness in it can’t be all bad.

The Flicker, The Finger, The Beat, The Sigh by April Genevieve Tucholke. Inspired by Stephen King’s Carrie and the film I Know What You Did Last Summer. A bit predictable. I didn’t know what stories had inspired it when I started reading it, but guessed right away.

Fat Girl With A Knife by Jonathan Maberry. Inspired by films Zombieland and Night of the Living Dead. Zombies. ZOMBIES. I am not so good with the zombies. Vampires, ghosts, mystical beings, aliens – I can handle them all. Zombies freak me out. I am freaked out.

Sleepless by Jay Kristoff. Inspired by the film Psycho. SO good. Compelling, creepy, eerie.

M by Stefan Bachmann. Inspired by the film M and the tv series Upstairs, Downstairs. What is it about children singing that can bring the chills?

The Girl Without A Face by Marie Lu. Inspired by the film What Lies Beneath. Horror, pure and simple.

The Girl Who Dreamed of Snow by McCormick Templeman.  Inspired by the film Kuroneko.  This one didn’t strike me as horror, although there was an element in the story. This was more of a supernatural mystery. With human sacrifice. So maybe horror.

Stitches by A. G. Howard. Inspired by Frankenstein. Oh. My. GOD. LOVE. So creepy and horrific and dark and terrible. I want to read it again.

On the I-5 by Kendare Blake. Inspired by films Death Proof and The Hitcher. Truck stop terror and revenge.

If you are smart (i.e.: NOT me), do NOT sit down and read them all in one go (i.e.: ME), or you will spend the next few days hiding under the blankets. With all the lights on.

Slasher Girls & Monster Boys is published by Dial Books.

8 thoughts on “Slasher Girls & Monster Boys

  1. I was actually kind of disapointed with this. It doesn’t seem like it’s the popular opinion, but I only found a few actually creepy. However, A.G. Howard’s turned my stomach, and Carrie Ryan’s gave me chills.

    Thanks for stopping by Writing on Vintage Typewriter!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I haven’t read this one yet because I try to stay away from the frightening books. There are so many amazing authors in this one that I may have to pick it up. I will definitely read it during the day!

    Like

  3. I got this on kindle with every intetions of reading it before Halloween… it didn’t happen, but I am still excited to catch up! The Girl With No Face sounds especially fantastic!

    Like

Leave a Reply

